The Last Watch

Book 1: The Divide Series | J.S. Dewes

About the Book

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes’s fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now it’s collapsing—and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels—the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake, commanding the Argus, has no resources, no comms—nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted.

They’re humanity’s last chance.

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Amazon
  • Buy on Barnes & Noble
  • Buy on Books-A-Million
  • Buy on Indie Bound
  • Buy on Audible

Audiobook

This book is also available on audiobook from the following online booksellers:

Narrator:
Format: Unabridged
Runtime: 15 hrs and 30 mins

Reviews

An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe.”—Megan O’Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon

“Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you.”—Jasper T. Scott, USA Today Bestselling Author

The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a ‘must read’ author for years to come.”—Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

More fun than that time The Expendables, the Dirty Dozen and all of The Night’s Watch all got picked up by a random quantum tear in the fabric of spacetime and shot out the edge of the universe to kick ass and save humanity.”—John Birmingham, author of the Axis of Time trilogy

“Take the action of Marko Kloos’ Frontlines novels, mix in the intricate world building of Game of Thrones or Warhammer 40,000, and light the fuse. . . . Bursting with snappy dialogue and detail and furious with action, you’ll want to catch your breath when it’s over, and then you’ll want more. Bring it on.”—Dayton Ward, bestselling author

A scary edge-of-reality setup, cool martial-arts tattoos, interesting time anomalies, and OMG! The Universe is contracting!? Clear your schedule, because once you’ve gotten on this roller coaster, you’re not going to want to get off until you’ve ridden it to the end.”—Emily Devenport, author of Medusa Uploaded

The Last Watch has it all! Risky orbital maneuvers! Knife fights with grotesque aliens! Mysterious ancient artifacts! Secret royalty! Tragic backstories! It’s classic military space opera with a touch of the cosmic.”—David Levine, winner of the Andre Norton Award for Arabella of Mars

Trailer

The Details

Published: April 20, 2021
Publisher: Tor Books
Pages: 480
Formats: EbookPaperbackHardcoverAudiobook
ISBN-13: 9781250236340

Genres & Tropes
science fiction, space opera, military space opera, sci-fi adventure, sci-fi, outcast war hero, banished prince, division of delinquent soldiers, edge of the universe, humanity’s survival, collapsing universe, an oppressive tyrant, a pangalactic war